Shaquille O’Neal As TOXIC as Donald Sterling As He Makes Fun of Genetically Disabled Man

Image

As someone who spent the early part of her career working the craniofacially deformed  individuals, including patients with Ectodermal Dysplasia, a condition affecting the  skin and teeth and sweat glands with protrusion of the upper part of the skull, and  I am completely sickened by what basketball star Shaquille O’Neal did to a  young man from Detroit, Jahmel Bionion,  who is suffering from this condition.

 

Image

To me, Shaquille is now as Toxic as Donald Sterling as I am sickened by both of their egregious actions. Please don’t tell me that one is different from the other. It is not.Both O’Neil’s  and Sterling’s words and actions are devastating to others. While Sterling showed  abusive discrimination towards Blacks, Shaquille O’Neal showed the same abusive discrimination towards a genetically challenged person. I can NEVER respect Shaquille again just as I can NEVER respect Donald Sterling.

 

I especially can never look at Shaquille the same way after I saw the video if the young man, Jahmel Binion,  talking about how hurt he was by Shaquille O’Neal ( who was once one of Jahmel’s  hero’s ) I shed tears. below is a link to the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4LKepphE0k

 

What Shaquille did is awful!! It is NOT funny to make a face and mock someone else, especially if they are disabled.  Shaq of all people should know better as there by the grace ofGod goes he.

If it wasn’t for basketball,  Shaquille too may have found himself victimized and made fun of due to his giant size . While he has served as a volunteer reserve officer with the Los Angeles Sherrif’s department when he was a Laker, as law enforcement was one of Shaquille’s childhood dreams, the reality is that his extreme height and size would have made him ineligible  for any police department or law enforcement organization due to their height  and weight regulations.  Had he not been a celebrity. He could have been easily turned away from many a job opportunity because of his size and height.

 

Even though the internet is filled with people who feel as horribly as  I do about what Shaquille did to this young man , he has yet to offer up an apology, or a face to face meeting with the young man, or to help repair the damage he contributed to  this young man’s self esteem. If he does happen to apologize to the young man, in my view it is too little too late.  He needed to do it immediately, not after there was public disdain.

 

Just as I have boycot tDonald Sterling, I am doing the same to Shaquille O’Neal, whom I once considered one of my favorite basketball players. I can’t  even look at him for the added abuse he did to Jahmel’s already fragile self esteem.  Just as what Donald Sterling said and did is unforgivable, Shaquille O’neal’s Toxic and sickening actions are unforgivable as well.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Shaquille O’Neal As TOXIC as Donald Sterling As He Makes Fun of Genetically Disabled Man

  1. words cannot even describe how sick and I am by the sea creatures act. Ungodly and unbelievable.

  2. my above posting did not come out correctly: I was talk texting and the words were mixed up. What I meant to say was that words cannot describe how sickened I am over such an EGREGIOUS and ungodly act towards another human being.

  3. I agree, I am so disgusted too! Hoping your watching the Amanda Knox interview with Chris Cuomo on CNN Thursday nite. Would love to see what you think of Amanda Knox body language. I go back and forth on her guilt or innocence. I am watching now. I am usually pretty good on reading people but to me she is a tough one to figure out at times.

    1. I;m with you Brandy. At first i thought she was innocent but when she did subsequent interviews on GMA devoid of emotion in a monotone detached way and devoid of sadness for the fact that this girl is dead, I have begun to alter my view based on this additional information. I am anxious to see what she does tonight body language wise. But right now it is not looking in her favor.

Leave a Reply

