Conrad Murray’s Courtroom Body Language Showed No Emotion, Sweating,Labored Breathing Which May Indicate Possible Suicide Risk

Conrad Murray found guilty in death of Michael Jackson

Just before the verdict was read, the only thing which gave Conrad Murray’s emotions away  as he awaited his fate, was  his upper chest breathing. You could see the heaving of his chest and his heart no doubt beat double time.

However his facial expression belied the anxiety he was really experiencing. He wore the same  mask like facial expression that he wore throughout the trial which I am certain did not further endear him to jurors.

As the word Guilty was read there was a slight movement however the facial expression did not change. He showed no emotion whatsoever.There was no forehead crinkling, no tears, no lip pursing or eye movement. There was nothing. He was void of emotion. But there was profuse sweating in his temple  and upper forehead region.

He was also void of emotion as he was remanded into custody. He looked as though he was in a state of shock as he was cuffed and lead away. No doubt this was surreal for him.

When you see someone who shows absolutely no twinge of any emotion whatsoever, it is often a red flag for a suicide watch. The trial has obviously taken a physical toll on Murray as seen by the hollowed out appearance under his eyes and the puffiness  in his midface. He may very well have been medicated during the trial as his eyes looked at half mast often and he appeared to be nodding out.

Oftentimes people do this when the information and truth is too much to handle emotionally. Thus it could be safely said that Conrad Murray appears to be the type of person who keeps his emotions in check and does not wear them openly.

But when the medication wears off and the reality sets in, emotions may take a tool on him and he may react self destructively in the form of a suicide attempt.

As he finally realizes all that goes along with his being a convicted felon in killing Michael Jackson, life may be too hard to handle. The public vitriol, the  loss of his medical license, and financial troubles may force him into a state of hopelessness.

So being remanded into custody may be saving his life for the time being as he will no doubt be placed  on a major suicide watch. But if he is intent on killing himself, his being a physician and knowing what to do to end his life may make suicide watch a futile process.

He appears to love his little child so that may give him some hope and may deter thoughts of his ending his life. If he thinks rationally and maintains his wits he will see that his 4 years may be cut in half and because  of the  prison overcrowding factor he may even get home confinement, according to TMZ.

Personally I believe that justice was served greatly and that it is a wakeup call to all physicians who put money and greed above the welfare of their patient. I have seen the starstruck physician who caters to the patient and does all that the patient wants . Even if Michael wanted propofol  and  insisted on it, he needed to have the integrity and ethics to  say NO!

And if he said YES, he needed to stay by Michael’s  side  to make sure Michael was monitored. If  Murray had to go to the bathroom, he needed to have a cup or a pail in the room as not to leave Michael alone.  And if Michael had a weak system or had drug issues, he  especially needed to be by his side to monitor him.

For the Jackson family, it is bittersweet. It is sweet that Justice was served and bitter that Michael is no longer alive. I know exactly how they feel. When my own precious brother was killed at the hands of an incompetent physician  who intubated him wrongly so that he became a vegetable and died, it was sweet that we settled the medical malpractice case, but it is a bitter pill for me which I have to swallow for the rest fo my life that my Manny is no longer alive.

Just as Michael Jackson was an extraordinary person, so was my brother, he was funny and  provided me with lots of belly laughs (something I have done little of since he was killed). He was warm, upbeat, kindhearted,  really cared about people, highly intelligent, honest, and had a great deal of integrity. He was talented and creative and not just my brother, but my best friend. His death at the hands of an incompetent doctor is unbearable.

I am sure that is how the Jackson family feels about Michael. I  had a vicarious thrill seeing Conrad Murray be cuffed and lead away. I wish that this would have happened ot the doctor who killed my brother . It didn’t . The  cold hearted emotionless doctor who was only a doctor who seven months when he ended my brothers life is now back at the same hospital  in New Jersey practicing as a bona fide physician. It galls me that this is the case.  So it was a catharsis for me to see a physician get what was due to him. www.drlillianglass.com 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Conrad Murray’s Courtroom Body Language Showed No Emotion, Sweating,Labored Breathing Which May Indicate Possible Suicide Risk

  1. Mj was a molester and a drug addict since the 1980’s and he never got the jail time he deserved his kids are lucky he croaked early in their lives

    Like

  2. Dr. Glass, I too found him to appear stoic through out the trial. I saw him cry one time. I am pretty good at body language as I am a behavioral annalist by profession. He also appears so VERY arrogant.
    I do believe he did care very much for Michael, but the greed and addiction for money took over. We all know what an addiction does to peoples common sense whether it be alcohol/sex or money.
    I know what catharsis feels like, it is awesome.
    Being very abused in every by my Father, every time I see an abuser get put away it is also justice for me too.

    Like

  3. It saddens me that the word justice has become synonymous with revenge and retribution. Justice should never be about satisfying those very destructive human emotions. Justice is the administration of an appropriate punishment for wrong doing or an appropriate reward for good behavior. Justice is not intended to “bring closure” to those who are “victims”, or perceived victims.

    Throughout life we can chose to view negative experiences that are a result of the actions of others, as victimizing us. The healthy emotional alternative is to find the lesson and growth potential of each scenario. It’s a personal choice to be a victim or to become a stronger, wiser, more understanding and empathetic human being.

    What was Dr. Murray’s crime? His crime was to violate his oath to do no harm. His crime was giving in to greed and maybe even to co-dependent behavior as he enabled Michael’s addiction. His crime was giving in to human emotions and foibles. He is absolutely guilty of manslaughter through negligence. What is truly just punishment for this? Won’t he be paying a high personal price his whole life? How would any of us feel if placed in his position? Don’t tell me it couldn’t be you………. we ALL have done some really stupid stuff for really dumb human reasons, we just haven’t been caught or luckily enough the consequences of our actions were minor.

    Lillian, I am so sorry to hear about your brother. I know how difficult the loss of a sibling is. Unfortunately, training for any hands on medical profession is just that, hands on. Proficiency comes, just as with sport, through practice, practice practice. While the golf shot in the rough, or the missed catch of the perfect pass are not life threatening, the impact is still great in the professional arena. Incubation is a very difficult procedure in some instances, and yes one should have quickly picked up that the stomach not the chest was rising. Been there done that, re-intubated ASAP. But the truth of the matter is that at some point we are all going to die! It might be by a medical mistake, it might be in a tornado, it might be while crossing a street. The only certainty is that we are all going to do it. Those left behind have to process our own personal loss and grief at not being able to share further day to day experiences with our loved one. Having lost both parents, one to suicide, and my sister to her own choices not to take care of her diabetes. What I do know is this, what they gave to me during their time on earth can never be taken away from me. The love I experienced and continue to experience is also eternal. It is my choice as to whether or not I want to stay stuck in the muck and mire of loss, or to revel in the experiences that were shared. I choose the later. I choose never to be a victim. I choose to focus on the positive experiences and learn and grow from the experiences on this journey called life.

    Like

      1. The feeling is mutual Lillian. You are one of my life’s blessings. Just as you and I can’t spend the time together I know we both would truly love, you are always with me and your love and support strengthen me. I have a wonderful ring to wear and you are right with me. xoxox

        Like

  4. The reason everyone having surgery gets a whole separate doctor for anesthesia is because it’s COMPLICATED! Your level of unconsciousness has to be so precise— can’t be too awake while being cut open, and you certainly can’t be too asleep. That equals DEATH.
    The idea that a physician would half-ass anesthesia in a BEDROOM is what I can’t believe. Murray was thinking about money in his pocket, NOT acceptable standards of care. It absolutely sickens me.
    No one deserves to die because a doctor deviates so far from accepted practices. And NO ONE, no matter how wealthy, should just be given what they want from a doctor. It’s the doctor’s duty to say NO!

    Like

  5. It is good to see this man charged with his crime. It’s about time. Dr. Glass said it best…all Dr. Murry had to do is say “No.” If Dr. Murry had stuck by his oath, and had any morals at all, he would have done just that. I also agree that Murry was star-struck, and most definitely, contributed to his lack of judgment. However, he owed a duty to MJ to protect him, heal him, and be there for him, especially with the use of this drug.

    Maybe this will stop other doctors from doing the same. I hope so.

    Again, Dr. Glass, I am deeply touched by your loss. It’s not something you ever ‘get over’. It’s something you learn to live with, and it is not easy. It was my Father who was taken from me, in a similar manner, when I was just fifteen years old. I lost my guardian,…my protector. I had no brothers, and no family nearby. I was utterly alone, It’s taken decades for me to stop hating the doctor who did this to my Father, and I cannot say that I am completely over it. But I have reached a point of, not forgiveness,…never that, but acceptance.

    I don’t know why these things happen to us, they just do, and as horrible as they are, and as much as it hurts, we have to keep moving forward, without too much hate inside. I still hope a piano falls on this doctor’s head someday, but he’s so elderly now, the worst thing that could happen to him, would be if his nurse forgets to medicate him. One can hope,…

    Thank you for your insight into Dr. Murray. I think he is a very cold, calculating, and unprofessional doctor. We do not need more of his ilk. I remember when doctors actually cared about their patients well-being. When they would call to see how you were feeling, and work their fingers to the bone to help you. Not today.

    Most doctors, and I have seen many for chronic illness, sit with you for about fifteen minutes, take no notes, ask you one of two questions, order tests, and hand you a bunch of scripts. Then, they want you to return, after the tests, to see if there is something that needs tweaked, or to add more medications. Lately, I feel like cattle being led to slaughter. The doctors don’t help much, and put you through hellish tests, for nothing.

    Maybe this is not the place, but I need to say this. I self-diagnosed myself with breast cancer two times, now. This happened over a period of fifteen years, and I was seeing my doctors regularly for checkups. After a period of almost ten years, of migraines, and all-over body pain, and a myriad of doctor’s tests, and appointments, I finally asked a new general physician, to test me for lupus. He reluctantly agreed, and in two weeks the test came back positive!

    If I had not asked this doctor for the lupus test, I would still be feeling horrible, and still would not know what was wrong with me! That’s three times, in fifteen years, that I had to depend upon me, instead of my physicians. Tell me, is this modern day medicine at it’s worst? I think it is….

    My Father died because the moron doctor thought he had a brain tumor, and advised exploratory surgery. The surgery crippled him from the neck down, and he was only 42 yrs. old! This was two decades ago, but after what I have been through, it looks like nothing in the medical field has changed.

    Sorry to burden all of you with the above. I just needed to put it out there. Thank you again Dr. G.

    Like

  6. First of to, H, MJ was acquitted. I do not believe he was a child molester. I believe that because he did not have a childhood, he did things that is frowned upon today i.e. an adult “sleeping” in the same bed with a child that isn’t their own child. As MJ said, you are thinking seual. Also, he settled and later said that he wished he hadn’t and we all saw how the so called second victim was discredited. Also, u need to have some compassion for addicts.

    Dr. Glass, so sorry to hear about your brother. So hard to hear of that doctor still practicing. I also was intubated in 2008 and they admitted that they almost made a mistake. Intubation is a very difficult process, it could go wrong very easily. I cringed everytime I hear the word intubated.

    Dr. Murray treated MJ horribly, as much as MJ took a chance with that dangerous drug, he did trust Dr. Murray to make sure nothing would have happened to him but sadly it did.

    I pray that this teaches current doctors a lesson, greed and being star struck is not what being a doctor is all about.

    Like

  7. MJ was a drug addict and a child molester. In my opinion, Murray is only guilty of being bought. He took an oath to do no harm, he broke that vow, and should lose his license to practice medicine. But he did not kill MJ, Michael got exactly what he wanted, what he willingly paid for, and that is what killed him.

    Like

  8. Rob your comments reflect your dislike of MJ imo. First of all MJ was never proven to be a child molestor. Second of all, Murray’s actions were incredibly egregious towards his patient, it doesn’t matter whether his patient was a drug addict. He should have made sure MJ received the appropriate treatment for his addiction, not supplied him with more drugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

