Most Women Would Never Do What Obama and Bohener Are Doing

Add an Image

Whether you want to admit it or not, there is a sex difference between men and women with regards  to communication. In fact I  discuss it at great length in my books He Says She Says and in my book The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Understanding Men and Women. In fact Kevin Burke did an awesome Boardway play play on it called Defending of the Cavememan which everyone needs to see.

One of the things I mention is that while  men will leave disputes in the boardroom, women usually do  not do so.It has been shown that women as a whole tend to carry over grudges in the workplace more so than men.

And for you contentious types who like to play the “I know better than you game” please don’t write  me to tell me that you are not one of the women who do this  or that you are not one of the men who do this, so and  therefore this is wrong information.  And please don’t waste your time telling me this is sexist . It is in no way sexist. This information is correct and is based upon years of reasearch efforts.

Personally as a woman I happen to  find it difficult to break bread with someone with whom I may be at odds. Obviously this was not the case with House Speaker John Bohner who was very much at odds  with Obama last week.

Last week they were at severe odds with one another  over taxes, the debt ceiling and the conflict in Libya, but  they  managed to put aside their differences for around of golf.

In fact Obama was actually smiling and joking around. This is something we have not seen from Obama for quite a while. Body language wise Bohners left leg  is turned in towards Obama which indicates that there is camaraderie.

While this may be standardizedbusiness practice for many  men in terms of bonding and trying to work out their differences, most women often  cannot compartmentalize in this way as there is often an emotional component towards doing business.

Men and women are wired differently neurologically and hormonally as research has indicated.Thus they react differently. While women have been trained to compartmentalize and have cordial meetings with those they may not necessarily  care for ,like Secretary  Hillary Clinton must do on a daily basis, it is not the norm.

I have interviewed countless female attorneys who continue to be amazed by how the their male colleagues could fraternize with “the enemy” ( the opposing counsel).

A small example of that could be seen during the Casey Anthony case  when Jeff Ashton went on the airwaves afterwards and spoke highly of Jose Baez. In the  courtroom Ashton showed body language which indicated he detested Baez and vice versa. Jose  was also complementary about Jeff Ashton when he was in front of the camera.  But Linda Drane Burdick was mum. I cannot ever imagine her singing Jose Baez’ praises, let alone having a meal with him,based on what went on between them in the courtroom.

The bottom line is that we shall see if Obama and Bohner’s golf game made a difference in terms of whether they can come to an agreement  on some of the most  serious issues affecting  all of us. www.drlillianglass.com

15 thoughts on “Most Women Would Never Do What Obama and Bohener Are Doing

  1. I definitely agree Dr. Glass, there ARE differences between the sexes.

    Women for the most part are more emotional. I was the first born and spend a lot of time with my Dad who was the nurturer. It gave me a bit of a different perspective and ability to rely on reason more than relying purely on emotions. There are women like this…. but I digress a bit from the original topic.

    Like

  2. I love this kind of analysis that you do on national and international leaders. Your commentary & information rang 100% true to me. You said: Personally as a woman I happen to find it difficult to break bread with someone with whom I may be at odds. Ditto that for me too. I’m not sure that I had made the connection of why this is true for me until I read your blog today! Thanks a lot for this as I believe that being aware of my difficulty in compartmentalizing because of the emotional component in business situations will be very valuable to me. Now I am interested in reading the 2 books of yours mentioned above. I had never heard of the play Defending the Caveman, so thanks for that too!

    Like

  3. Singhphat – I left a comment on the previous blog post with parts of an excellent article on the jury decision. The comments on that blog post are all out of order but please look for it as I am very interested to know your thoughts about it. Thanks in advance,
    Nancy

    Like

    1. NancyB – yes, the posts are out of whack. lol. But they show great heart and love for Caylee and for the law.

      I clicked on the link to the article by the Lawyer/Professor (which you graciously provided!). I feel his article should be written in every newspaper across America. We can’t allow the new standard to be the new low! He represents the professional standard (higher standard), the one we hope the country will uphold!

      Like

  4. great assessment once again Dr. Glass. I’ve been thinking the men are great at compartmentalizing their differences with the opposition if they find common ground with certain activities and interests. I’ve found that I do prefer male roommates over female roommates based on everything you’ve highlighted about in your thread about grudges, et. all.

    Like

  5. The Democrats and Republicans are ALL on the same team – them against us. They pretend to be divided, while pushing through their unified agenda. Just like the opposing wrestlers on the WWF. It is all for show.

    Like

  6. I totally agree.
    I am not sure who can argue with your reasoning in here.
    20 years ago I would have imagined i am different than the regular woman but not at 42 I must admit what you say is all truth, If I do not like you I will not be eating with you no matter how free the meail it is.
    A man can tho lol

    Like

  7. Dr Lillian

    This is OT. Dr Drew has Nadia on and they just showed video of Jonah and he has not had any repair for the cleft lip. Just another lie that she told on Good Morning America – that his surgery was scheduled for the next week.

    Like

  8. LOL DR. GLASS it always has and always will be for men, their brains are compartment’s. We ”women” use our brains as a whole and tend to be ”witches” and not so much to forgive that easy. I have worked with men 32 years and much rather work with men cause when they bitch and gossip I find it easier to block them all out.I might say ”that’s not very nice” or make a response like their Mom would but they don’t ever get mad of what I have to say.I retired civil service 04 and I worked as a cashier couple of years after with all women at a conv./store oh my Lord ”DRAMA QUEENS” and the worst part I would find myself getting sucked into all the drama but lol if I didn’t say what they wanted to hear they would be totally pissed at me,sooo much tension working the rest of the night and gosh one ”so sad of a story ” so I loaned her money,did I ever get paid back,nope but in the past if a man borrowed money I would get paid back right away. SO it was nice to go back running HIGH Pressure Boilers cause I’m back working with all males again the last 4 years.Oh I have a book the day you were born July 21 right ? I read it,fits you to a tee; lol it has an advice part at the bottom of each birthday and it suggested maybe for you to be a little softer and not so harsh in judgement and health wise you have to watch out not to stress yourself out with diet and exercise supose to help,your carreer path fits perfectly on how you have made it.Have a great weekend!Cindy Austin -Windham Maine

    Like

  9. Dr Glass ——

    I wondered if you had seen this article or read about TSA applying Behavior Detection at Airports? I wrote about this technique already employed by Israel in one of my school papers.

    http://www.politico.com/blogs/joshgerstein/0711/TSA_readying_new_behavior_detection_plan_for_airport_checkpoints.html

    “TSA already has “behavior detection officers” at 161 airports nationwide looking for travelers exhibiting physiological or psychological signs that a traveler might be a terrorist. However, Pistole said TSA is preparing to move to an approach that employs more conversation with travelers—a method that has been employed with great success in Israel.”

    Like

  10. It’s so very true, Dr. Glass. Men and women are wired differently!

    I really enjoyed working with a senior partner, in the law firm. I was his paralegal, and had worked with him, almost exclusively, for twenty years. We often discussed trials in the news, etc.

    He had a hearing, in court, against a notorious young female attorney, regarding a nasty divorce. She represented the wife. At any rate, he returned to the office, looking frazzled. When I asked him what was wrong, he told me that the female attorney cried in court. He was flabbergast, and caught off guard by her behavior, but it was effective, and she used this tact frequently. Her opinion of it, is that it always threw the male attorneys, and male judges, off balance, giving her the upper hand. It worked. She won a large settlement in that divorce, which we appealed immediately, and referred it to one of our female attorneys to appeal.

    This older male attorney told me he was distraught, and asked “Why can’t women just argue it out, and go out and have a beer after?” Well, I was shocked that he was shocked…hehe. I told him women do not think that way. If we lose it, we hold it in, and usually, don’t forget the slight.

    His comment reminded me of “My Fair Lady”, when the Professor sings, “Why Can’t a Woman Be More Like a Man?”

    Men cannot handle crying women. Women cannot tolerate being ‘dismissed’, or insulted. Men don’t care about that stuff. Men don’t cry. They take it outside, so to speak, and it’s over. We remember, and seek revenge, when we can.

    Sometimes, though, I do wish I could be more like a man, when I feel like stabbing some horrible crone, in the eye, with my Bic pen! It requires great restraint ;).

    Like

Leave a Reply

