PAYING ATTENTION TO YOUR OWN BODY LANGUAGE CHANGES CAN HELP YOU AVOID BUSINESS AND SOCIAL DISASTERS

What thrills me the most about doing my Body Language Blog is when I get feedback from people telling me that  they learn  so much from my posts in terms of reading body language.  That is my aim. When you understand the language of the body, face, voice, and speech content, a whole world opens up to you.

By focusing on the  body language of newsmakers who everyone sees in videos and in photos, it allows me to show you clear examples of the various body language signals during specific actions by celebrities, sports figures, political figures, and even criminals that reveal what they are really thinking and saying. It allows me to show you what is really going on between the headlines.

My posts are not meant to be mean or insulting. They are simply meant to show what is really going on from a behavioral and  body language perspective based on what my decades of research, my extensive education in various fields,  and decades of experience. Through my  observations of  people’s body language and voice and communication skills, my aim is that perhaps you can apply some of those observations to people you know in your own life.

So aside from discussing specific celebrities and their body language, from time to time I will give you some general information about various aspects of body language, facial language, the voice, and speech patterns in hopes that it will give you an additional perspective that you can apply ion your own life.  

In today’s blog I will discuss the importance of your paying close attention to your own body signals whenever you interact with anyone in your life. This can be very helpful in those with whom you do business or with those whom you socialize.

YOUR OWN BODY LANGUAGE AWARENESS CAN GUIDE YOU IN BUSINESS AND SOCIALLY

Today,  things happen  with such rapid speed that the expression  it is no longer “ yesterday’s news. Instead, it is ten seconds ago news. Things happen so rapidly that you always have to keep aware of the mercurial changes that not only happen in the world in general, but in your personal world. You have to keep tabs of the slightest  mercurial changes that happen within your own body as you interact with people.

These little warning signs must NEVER be ignored! They tell you a lot about what is really going on at the moment. They tell you how you are feeling about what is happening now!

Let’s say you are in a business meeting or on a date and you just felt a sudden unpleasant queasiness in your stomach as you were discussing something. Let’s say you feel your body tensing up or your breathing gets more shallow and you notice that your shoulders are raised! Pay close attention, as it tells you point blank that something isn’t quite right. DO NOT IGNORE IT!

                              PAY ATTENTION TO THESE SPECIFIC BODY, FACIAL, AND VOCAL CHANGES:

Here are some bodily changes that may tell you something is amiss somewhere.

1.stomach cramping and pain

2. headache

3. shallow breathing with lots of upper shoulder movement

4. tension and rigidity in your body

5. your hand cupped into fist like position indicating that you are angry

6. leaning you head and body away from the person

7.  tension in your brow and forehead

8. squinting

9. pursed lips

10, throat clearing

11. your pitch gets higher when you are speaking

12. you find yourself clamming up

13. tension in your throat area

14. tension in your jaw.

15. your shoulders are raised

WHAT TO DO WHEN YOU NOTICE THESE CHANGES

NEVER overlook these changes in your body and facial  language and in your voice patterns. Whenever you notice them immediately, STOP! LOOK! And  LISTEN to what the person with whom you are doing business or socializing is REALLY saying to you.

STOP and take a breath in. Hold it for a few seconds and then slowly release it. This allows a homeostatic balance to take place in your system. It allows you to oxygenate yourself and helps you to gain more control over the situation and to think more clearly.

LOOK . As you slowly release the air from your mouth, take the person in visually. Observe their facial expressions. Are they frowning? Are the looking away from you? Are they exhibiting certain body language tells that indicate they may not be forthright with you? Do they lean away from you? Do they rock back and forth? Are their feet pointed in the opposite direction or tapping indicting they can’t wait to get away from you?

LISTEN. Pay close attention to how they sound when they speak. Do you notice that they attack their sounds?  Do you notice they say “ um”, “like um”  “you know”or “and” a lot. Do they suddenly stammer and seem uneasy when speaking to you?

       ASK QUESTIONS TO KNOW WHERE YOU STAND- DON’T KEEP ANYTHING  BOTTLED UP INSIDE OF YOU

If you notice something isn’t right, ASK  QUESTIONS to find out where you stand. You may ask them to clarify what they are saying so that you can pick up even more cures from them in terms of what is really going on. You even be very direct as you ask if there is a problem or an issue that needs to be addressed. 

The bottom line is don’t keep it in an let you ill feelings fester. That is what leads to miscommunication. You can even be 100 per cent honest with them and say that something doesn’t feel right or that you are not comfortable with what they said.

Handle you discomfort about a situation immediately and never let it build up!  In doing so, you will find a sense of  physical as well as mental relief. If they refuse to discuss the issue, then they have in essence told you a lot about themselves. If they become angry or hostile it also speaks to the situation at hand.

ACT RIGHT AWAY TO AVOID MISCOMMUNICATION

The bottom line is that whenever your own  body language, facial language or voice  gives you a signal something isn’t right- pay attention and deal with it right away! Sometimes it may be a simple misunderstanding and other times it may signify a huge problem in your business or social interaction.

If you would like to find out more about body language, I have a lot of products and services that can assist you personally. Just go to http://www.drlillianglass.com/

One thought on “PAYING ATTENTION TO YOUR OWN BODY LANGUAGE CHANGES CAN HELP YOU AVOID BUSINESS AND SOCIAL DISASTERS

  1. Dear Dr. Glass,

    I have been listening to you on Nancy Grace and reading this blog with much interest. Of course I’m learning. But, something really amazed me recently about myself.

    I watched a filmed interview I took part in eight years ago. It was a segment of Street Stories filmed shortly after a devastating crisis in my life.

    I’ve seen that video several times, but this time I saw what I was truly feeling because of what I learned from you. I believed at the time that I was pulling off a sense of peace and healing, but what I saw in my facial expressions was anger, and lots of it. I was uncomfortable and seething beneath my poor attempt to resonate that i was doing well, I know now that I wasn’t doing a good job of it at all. Clearly, I was hurt, but didn’t see that I was also furious.

    I’m not that person today. I’m in better shape and have accepted what happened at this time.

    I just wanted to thank you.

    J

    Like

Leave a Reply

