Marsha Petrie Sue’s Copyright Infringement of Dr. Lillian Glass’ Book Reported By CNBC, USA Today, Bloomberg Businessweek, Yahoo, Breitbart, FOX, ABC, NBC, and CBS

 

THE MEDIA HAS SPOKEN

 

The most powerful media venues such as CNBC, USA Today, Bloomberg  Businessweek, Breitbart, Yahoo, FOX, CBS, NBC and ABC are among the many places which  have reported the trial where  Marsha Petrie Sue,  an Arizona Speaker and author was found liable for copyright infringement by a unanimous jury in a Federal Court in Los Angeles.

 CNBC
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:LFu8H8wBnMYJ:classic.cnbc.com/id/40640840+Lillian+Glass+cnbc&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a

USA Today
http://content.usatoday.com/topics/article/Culture/Television/Programming/Dancing+with+the+Stars/02hV4OJeZDa5g/1 

Bloomberg
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:ihUKyA-xncwJ:www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-12-14/paul-allen-apple-costco-toxic-people-intellectual-property.html+Lillian+Glass+forbes&cd=5&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a

Businessweek
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:oDAV-bOqr7YJ:news.businessweek.com/article.asp%3FdocumentKey%3D1376-LDE18E0UQVI901-5CKS40JSI3NJ03FS0BSUSF00UJ+Lillian+Glass+forbes&cd=4&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a 

Breitbart
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:-jSgmbssbN0J:www.breitbart.com/article.php%3Fid%3Dxprnw.20101213.LA16247%26show_article%3D1+brightbart+Lillian+Glass&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a

Yahoo

http://news.yahoo.com/s/prweb/20101215/bs_prweb/prweb4899784

                                                                                                                                                       FOX                                                                                                                                                                                                           

                                                           FOX 29 http://www.wflx.com/Global/story.asp?S=13663139   FOX 40http://www.wggb.com/Global/story.asp?S=13663139

                                                                                                                                                                                                           ABC 

                                                                                                                                                   http://www.abc3340.com/Global/story.asp?S=13663139

                                                                                                                                                                                            NBC   

                                                                                                                                                           http://www.nbc29.com/Global/story.asp?S=13663139

                                                                                                                                                                                           YAHOO

                                                                                                                             http://news.yahoo.com/s/prweb/20101215/bs_prweb/prweb4899784

In reporting this story,the media has  clearly sent a message that this was  a newsworthy story and  a very important message for everyone to hear. It said that copyright infringement is a serious issue. It spoke of how someone boldly stood up and fought for their rights and took that fight all the way to a United States Federal Court and won. It said that a jury unanimously agreed that Marsha Petrie Sue was a copyright infringer.

  

A FEDERAL COURT JURY HAS SPOKEN

The sweetest words to my ears was when the verdict was read. Below are the exact questions  which were read and the exact answers to those important questions- “YES”

 

 

A SENSE OF EMPOWERMENT

It is a very powerful and moving experience to stick up for your rights. Doing so has empowered me. I will carry that for the rest of my life. It was  a very moving experience to sit in a courtroom for three days and watch the American justice system in action.  The system works and I am living proof that it does work.

Each day I was motivated by the beautiful large American flag that was in front of me in the courtroom. For me, it was the ultimate symbol of truth and justice and the foundation what this wonderful country is based on. Every time I looked at the flag, it gave me hope and courage.

My intention in going to court was not about the money or to get a windfall. Instead, it was about truth and justice. I felt very strongly about it. I have worked very hard all of my life. I have made a lot of sacrifices in my life and I have never taken the easy road or the simple way out.

So when I saw someone do word for word copying of my work without giving me proper attribution, refusing to apologize, or to make things right, I had no choice but to exercise my legal rights.

Marsha Petrie Sue wrote a book in 2007 called ‘Toxic People.’ In that book she had wrongfully copied my material in my ‘He Says She Says’ book which I wrote in 1992.

The jury of eight unanimously  agreed with  the fact that Petrie Sue did indeed wrongfully copy my material.

Coincidently, I also wrote a book called ‘Toxic People’ in 1995.  One day while doing a search on Amazon.com, I stumbled across Marsha Petrie Sue’s 2007  book that had the same title as my book, ‘Toxic People.’ That is how I learned that her book contained my material from ‘He Says She Says.’ 

Needless to say I was shocked. I have written fourteen books and they are my life’s work. My books are filled with a lot of information that have helped a lot of people. The countless phone calls, emails, and letters I have received throughout the years are testimony to that.

 If someone is interested in using some of the materials from  any of my books or blogs for that matter, I have no issue with that. But you must contact me first to get my permission. No one can simply copy my work without giving me or anyone else from whom they copy, proper credit and hope that I won’t find out.

Marsha Petrie Sue  not only copied my material and placed it in her book, she took my copyrighted material and put it in her website and claimed it as her own. In addition, she stated on her site that she gave  people permission to use my material only if they mentioned her name and gave her credit.

I NOT ONLY STOOD UP FOR MYSELF  I STOOD UP FOR EVERYONE WHO CREATES ANYTHING!

I stood up to Marsha Petrie Sue and her behavior and I did it in a Federal Court. I not only stood up to her for myself, I stood up to her on behalf of anyone who creates something.

Whether you are an author, screenwriter, songwriter, composer, sculptor, artist, illustrator, fashion designer, furniture designer, auto designer, poet, architect, photographer, jewelry designer, shoe designer, or anyone who has developed something from your own creation, you have a right to defend what is rightfully yours.   

My  legal victory is not just for me. It is for you too. I fought on behalf of you as well. I  kept you in my heart and in my thoughts throughout this entire ordeal.

It has now been a week since I set foot in Judge R. Gary Klausener’s courtroom and watched him sit high above on his bench in his regal black robe as he ruled on various technical legal matters.

It has been less than a week since my fabulous intellectual property attorney Eric Bjorgum of Karish and Bjorgum articulated  so eloquently and passionately on my behalf. His wonderful words were healing and will continue to resonate within me for a lifetime.

This was not an easy task by any means. But it was well worth it. I have come away from this experience more motivated than ever to be a voice for people. I am blessed to now be able to serve as an example to  empower others in letting them know that  they never have to feel victimized  and that they have recourse through the justice system.

And on a final note, I say God Bless America!” I’m so happy and so proud to live in this wonderful  country where we can send a message about improper copying. www.drlillianglass.com

16 Responses

  1. I am assuming that as a result of this verdict that Marsha Petrie Sue is now mandated to immediately remove your protected property from her website. I am also assuming that she will no longer be allowed to market or sell the book she published called Toxic People that contains your copywrited material – word for word. Are my assumptions correct? I am really pleased to see that these most reputable media sources covered your case and vindication. Your dearest mother must be so happy for you. Bravo Dr. Lillian!

    • Thank you for your kind words Nancy. And yes my dear lovely and beautiful mother is extremely proud. She says she couldn’t be happier that she raised a daughter who has the integrity and inner strength to stand up for what is right in seeking truth and justice. She also says that she is honored that I am her daughter which touched me deeply. Actually, I am even more honored that this precious woman is my mother.

  2. People should know that when Dr. Lillian Glass says something she means business. You are role model for all people who have been victimized. Not only did you stand up for yourself you stuck through the difficulties and often slow justice system. But in the end, justice did prevail!! Kudos to you and may the truth always come out!!!

    • Robin thank you so much as you know how much respect I have for you. Since you were a former prosecutor and dealt with the law at the highest level, no one knows more than you how the justice system works.Yes justice did prevail as we cannot allow the Marsha Petrie Sue;s of the world to get away with taking credit for other’s work and claiming it as their own. This is a victory not ony for me but for you too as a writer and author.

  3. Hi, congratulations on your victory! It is an important one.
    I was just wondering if the defendant was in court, if you had a chance to look her in the eye. How did that feel for you? Could you tell how she was feeling? I would be interested in the defendant’s body language in the court. Or was it just her attorneys there to represent? Could you tell anything from their body language?

    • Great question! Marsha Petrie Sue was in court for the three days and yes I did read her body language. Suffice it to say I learned a lot. I think I will leve it at that for the ime being. I am glad that justice was served so that others can now know they have options and so that no one else thinks they can get away with this eggregious behavior without being held accountable.

  4. Dr. Glass,
    As your fan, friend, supporter and fellow American Citizens everyone here at Domestic Abuse Awareness Network and Child Abuse Awareness Network salute you for standing up as a woman, author and American!!!. A standing ovation to you this morning!!.
    Leah Davis
    Founder/ Director
    DAAN / CAAN

  5. Congrats Dr Glass! I am proud of you too! I am very happy you won, we could see how this act by this thief hurt you, personally.

    Great job!

  6. You must feel so relieved this is over… i’m really happy for you.. i love your books… so excited for you.. sending you best wishs and peace for christmas…

  7. This is an important victory, and I join you in celebrating a well deserved victory. As an author, your name is also your trademark. When I was hospitalized a few years ago, my domain name (burlbarer.com) lapsed and was immediately grabbed up by a company that tried to sell my own name back to me for thousands of dollars. The law, however, establishes that my name is my trademark, and they had to return it to me for their cost — $250. I refused to pay them $250, and instead registered burlbarer.net. They can’t sell burlbarer.com to anyone other than me, and I’m not buying.

  8. Dear Lillian, Thank you for standing up for justice for all creative people. As you know that I am Membership Chairman of The American Society of Media Photographers here in South Florida. ASMP is with you 100% in the fight for the rights of creators when it comes to unauthorized copying of their work. As you know, my long-time friend and your dear brother Manny was also a member of ASMP and I know that Manny would be extremely proud of his sister at this time. In fact, Manny was ALWAYS proud of his sister…he bragged about you to me on many occasions. In any event, please say Hi to your Mom and a big hello and hug to you! Happy Holidays! Sandy

    • Dearesr Sandy,
      Thank you so much for your beautiful comment as I cherish it. Yes I know that your very dear friend and my precious brother is smiling down on us in heaven. He would be so proud my taking this egregious injustice all the way to the US Federal Court becuase this legal win was not only for writers like me me but for everyone- photographers like yourself architects, designers, songwriters etc. Manny was all about “helping his fellow man” and those words are in fact engraved on his tombstone. He is always with me in my heart and soul and his beautiful spirit and soul helped carry me through this arduous trial. Manny had so much love and respect for you and absolutely thought the world of your son.Thank you so much for your beautiful words.

      • Dear Lillian, Thank you for your kind words. I think of Manny often…and I especially miss speaking with him on Saturday mornings, like clockwork, almost every Saturday. And you are right, Manny was all about helping his fellow man. And thank you for again letting me know that he had much love and respect for me and my photographic skills. Thank you for your kind reminder! I know that Manny also thought the world of our son Mark..I only wish Manny was here in person to see how far Mark has come with his acting career in NY. But somehow, I feel that Manny knows as I frequently feel his spirit! Much love to you and your Mom! Sandy & Barbara

  9. Congratulations and thanks for your strength, intelligence and perseverance. As a photographer in the (almost dead) music business I know first hand about how theft of intellectual property has destroyed people’s lives. Sadly most of them cannot even afford to take a case to court, let alone navigate the system, so this small victory is heartening. Sadly though, this new paradigm feels like getting rid of one vermin and then 1000 others appear.

    • Thank you so much for your support. Vermin is a great visual.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

